Home > gluten-free, recipes > And the second failure, kinda.

And the second failure, kinda.

I’m always interested in trying new and often weird things that other people cringe at.  So when Lindsay tasked me with grocery shopping by myself, I couldn’t resist getting in some browsing time.  And, lo!  To my surprise I found that Cub carries beef marrow bones!  For three bucks and some change, I easily rationalized a cooking experiment.  With a little digging on the good ol’ internet, I found a pretty basic recipe with a nice relish accoutrement.  The recipe that I followed was here, and I highly suggest reading it, if for no other reason than she has much better photos.

Roasted Marrow Bones

Adapted from Fergus Henderson’s recipe

4 center-cut beef or veal marrow bones, about 3 inches long
1/2 cup parsley, chopped (I just used 2 Tbs of dried parsley, cuz that’s what I had available)
1 shallots, thinly sliced
1 tsp. capers
1  Tbls. olive oil
1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
kosher salt, to taste

Thick slices of crusty bread, toasted

Even though the recipe didn’t call for it, I soaked the bones overnight in salted water to remove some of the impurities.  I had to change the water a couple of times.  Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Stand the bones up on end in a 9 x 9 baking dish.  Put the wider end on the bottom, so they’re less likely to tip over when you move your pan.

I bet you can't wait to dig in, right?

Roast for about 20 minutes, until the marrow is soft and the bones are brown.

"It's in the bone! It's in the bone! It's in the bo-one!" Yup, I went there.

For the parsley salad:  Chop up the parsley.  Peel your shallot and slice it thinly.  Toss the chopped parsley, shallot, and capers into a bowl. Drizzle in the olive oil and lemon juice. Sprinkle with kosher salt to taste.  Mix with a fork to combine the ingredients.

This concoction has a lot of potential uses in other dishes.

When everything is done, scoop out a little marrow, spread it on a piece of toast, and top with a little parsley salad.

You'll have to trust me that the marrow is under the relish. Not a lot, but it's there.

 I didn’t have any french bread laying about, so I just used some potato bread that I did have.  I was a bit of middle of the road on this dish.  It didn’t overwhelm me with a foodgasm, but it didn’t leave me feel lacking either.  In all honesty, what it reminded me of was when I dip a piece of toast into the grease after I’m done frying up bacon.  Minus the smokey flavor of course.  When I first scooped out some of the marrow, I noticed that an inch down, there was still a definite pink tinge to the marrow.  Even though I’m better about it, I just couldn’t bring myself to eat it because of an old hang-up with under cooked meat (thanks, mom).  So I put the rest of it back into the turned off oven where I unfortunately didn’t check on it in time and everything rendered into the bottom of the pan.  I definitely want to try this again, after  all it is a cheap thing to play around with.  But next time, I’m thinking I’m going to pop the marrow out of the bone and slice it into rondelles and fry it on the stove.  I think I’ll have much better control over everything and give a proper review.
Categories: gluten-free, recipes Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 17, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Leave a Reply

