Home > reviews > Just like Mom used to make. Well, more or less.

Just like Mom used to make. Well, more or less.

One of my favorite things that Mom makes is pasta salad.  Not even sure where she found the idea twenty-ish years ago, but it’s very tasty.  It’s a great dish to make ahead and take for lunch.

Num!

The recipe is ridiculously simple.  Boil two pounds of pasta of choice (I used farfalle and conchiglie here, but usually use rotini) in slightly salted water.  I usually drain it just before it’s al dente otherwise it becomes mushy because it will soak up some of the dressing.  Once it’s drained, run it under cold water to stop the cooking.  While the pasta is cooking, I prep whatever I want to throw in it.  I’ve only done this with a Mediterranean bend, but I don’t see why this would work with other cuisines.

I put the following in:  red bell pepper, carrots, hard salami, kalamata olives, capers, cherry tomatoes, red onion, pepperoncini, mozzarella, and green olives.  Fresh herbs would also be good mixed in here.  When the pasta is done and the veggies are prepped, mix them together along with Italian dressing to taste.  I usually toss in a little salt and pepper to taste, as well.  Just as a word of caution, two pounds of pasta is quite a bit.  This was lunch for a whole week.

Look at the little photo-bomber.

Categories: reviews Tags:
  1. March 22, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Trina grabbed this recipe once when we were down in Decorah visiting. Have gotten amazing mileage out of it since.

  2. March 23, 2012 at 12:55 am

    I’m glad to hear it. I’ve only recently begun using it again and I’m wondering why I ever stopped making it.

    • March 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Okay. T had made this last week for a grilling get together. Somehow she doesn’t use the meat component. I had some leftovers today, a cheddar brat, and a salad I made for a get together tomorrow. I mixed the pasta salad with the brat and some of the other salad and it was absolutely amazing.

      Sounds crazy, but the contents of the ‘other salad’ were: shelled edamame, jicama cubes, sweet red/orange/yellow pepper slices, black beans, green onions, garlic, cherry tomatoes and corn with an olive oil, rice vinegar, lemon juice dressing.

      May have stumbled onto something, but since both salads are kinda ingredient intensive, it might not be worth the time/cost to hunt down all the ingredients.

  3. April 1, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    The ‘other salad’ sounds really good. I have to agree that it may be too labor/cost effective to do a combo salad. I’ve been put off recipes like that in the past. That being said, I may give it shot though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

