Home > gluten-free, recipes, supper > Veggie Stir-Fry

Veggie Stir-Fry

We try to do a stir-fry on a semi-regular basis because it’s tasty and a great way to work more veggies into our diet.  I’m pretty sure I’ve never made it the same way twice.  Partly because I’ve only recently hit upon a decent technique.  The major breakthrough was when I stopped using my wok and switched to my cast-irons.  The problems with the wok are that it has a rounded bottom so it doesn’t sit well on our electric burners and that it just doesn’t hold the heat like it should to get a good char on it.  Also, part of that is our stove doesn’t get hot enough over a large enough area.  Cast-irons to the rescue!  In my experience nothing holds heat like good ol’ quarter inch thick iron.  I put in about two tablespoons of oil in the skillet and heat it on high until it shimmers.  Then I cook the mixed veggies in batches (about 1 layer thick) so that I’m not steaming anything while the rest browns.  When the last batch is done I put everything back in the skillet and sauce it off heat and mix it.  There is plenty of residual heat in the skillet to heat up the sauce and warm up the previous batches.  And serve over rice.  (duh!)

Not only is it good for you, it has pretty colors!

Sauced and tossed!

Ooh! Pretty!

 

Categories: gluten-free, recipes, supper Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

