Home > recipes, supper, vegan > Seat-of-the-pants-curry

Seat-of-the-pants-curry

One night, I decided that I was going to make a curry.  I didn’t feel like looking up any kind of recipe for a starting point because curries vary so much and I didn’t want to sift through hundreds of potential recipes to find one that sounded good.  So I decided just to wing-it.  It didn’t turn out too bad all things considered.

Like with my stir-fries, I just grabbed a bunch of veggies that looked good together and chopped up what looked like a decent quantity.  In this iteration there were: carrots, broccoli, leeks, peppers, and red onions.

I love colorful veggies.

In several small batches, I did a quick sear on them, i.e. stir-fried them.  Once they were all done, I put everything back into the pan and started to build up my curry sauce.

This is the stuff that looked like it should go into a curry.

For the amount of veggies that I had, I needed two cans of coconut milk to get enough of a sauce base going.  I didn’t want to thin it down with water.  I then added the whole jar of red curry paste, but that didn’t seem to do a whole lot.  Especially after I added a bit of lime juice to it.  I finally started to add the garam masala.  That was the magic I was looking for.  Next time I do this, I’m just going to avoid the curry paste and straight to the good stuff.  I did throw in a bit of salt because it tasted like it needed some.  When I was finally happy with the flavors, I let it simmer for a couple of extra minutes just to make sure that everything was still working.  I wasn’t 100% happy with the flavor, but for a blind first attempt it was good.  Of course, I served it with rice.

But it looks really good.

  1. June 17, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    It looks mouthwatering.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

