Home > eating out, family, reviews, supper > Finally made it to Kieran’s

Finally made it to Kieran’s

Our friend, Narren, was up here in the Cities for a conference last week.  Being the good friend he is, he called us wondering if we wanted to get together for supper one night.  Our answer was “Well, duh.”  After winding our way through the maze of one-ways in downtown Minneapolis, we found Narren waiting outside of his hotel for us.  Once he hopped in the car, his first question was “Where are we going?”  Yeah, this wasn’t helpful.  Lindz and I rarely go to downtown, so it’s practically a foreign country to us.  So we found a parking ramp a little farther down the road and figured that was a good starting point.  After walking around for just a bit, we discovered that we were right by the hotel where Lindz and I had our “stay-cation” (a post that is coming soon, i.e. as soon as I remember to get some pics from Lindz’ computer).  At this point Lindz suggested going to Kieran’s Pub, neither Narren or I could come up with any reason not to, so that is where we ended up.

I’ve never been to Kieran’s, but I’ve heard about it constantly from friends who work downtown, as well as ones who like to frequent pubs.  I haven’t heard a bad review, and after visiting, I can see why.  Since we went on a Tuesday, it wasn’t very busy at all, which is exactly the way I like it.  We were seated immediately and promptly placed our drink order.  Both Narren and I decided to go with the June beer special: Brooklyn Lager.

Yes, we were sitting right by this sign. So I took it as a sign that I should have some.

I was amused by the “Pre-Prohibition Style” tagline.

As far as food, I couldn’t resist going with the fish and chips.  After all, we were in an Irish pub.  Also, it is one of those dishes that I use to determine the quality of a place.  I use dishes that are deceptively simple to prepare, but if it’s done right, it’s wonderful.  If it’s not done right, well, you can tell immediately.  In other words, there really isn’t a middle ground for taste.  The result?  Kieran’s passed with flying colors.  Easily one of the top 3 places where I’ve had fish and chips here in the Cities.  I took the walleye option over the cod.  No particular reason, just the way my whim was pointing at that moment.  As a added bonus, I didn’t even need to ask for malt vinegar.  They just assumed that I wanted it because everyone should eat it this way.  I love it!

Happiness on a plate.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

