Home > recipes, supper > A Treat for Lindz

A Treat for Lindz

This happened awhile back.  Lindz sent me out grocery shopping by myself (an iffy proposition at the best of times).  I managed to mostly stick to our list.  The two items that I splurged on were a pint of pickled herring for myself and some scallops for Lindz.  I thought it was a pretty fair deal even though her treat cost about twice as much as mine (the scallops were even on sale).

These suckers were huge!

To cook them, I went with the simplest approach I could.  I melted a couple of tablespoons of butter in my trusty cast-iron and fried them for a couple of minutes on each side.  The seasoning was barely a sprinkle each of salt and pepper.

By far the prettiest scallops I have ever cooked.

I got a great caramelization on the scallops, but I think I overcooked them by about 30 seconds.  They were a bit chewier than I was hoping.  One thing that I’ve been trying to work on is my timing with seafood.  As near as I can figure, there is about a 30 second window between under cooked and overcooked.  And I always seem to be on the plus side of this ideal temperature.

Despite the half minute of extra heat, Lindz did enjoy eating five of them.  Well, I had to try one of them.  Research you know.  I was trying to figure out what I need to improve upon for the next time.  No, really.  I was.  I read it in a book somewhere.  Towards the back.

Addendum: Last night Dave pointed out that his dad only grills scallops for around ten seconds on each side.  He also said that since they are so delicate, it is better to err towards sushi.  Which got me thinking again about how long I cooked the scallops.  It probably was closer to a minute a side rather than a couple.  They were over cooked, but not by that much.

Categories: recipes, supper Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

