Home > eating out, family, reviews > Brunch with Friends

Brunch with Friends

It’s like the game Words with Friends except that they have nothing in common.

This past summer, Lindz and I, met up with some friends (Jess, Jay, and little Penny) in Rochester.  We decided to go get the Sunday brunch at Chester’s and catch up on life.  I’ve never eaten there before and based on Jess and Jay’s recommendations, I went with the Prime Rib Hash.

Now this is what I call a proper brunch dish.

Like any proper hash, it consists of potatoes, veggies, eggs, and meat.  What Chester’s does is step everything up a notch.  They use fresh veggies, a nice cut of meat (prime rib), they poach the eggs, and top everything with a hollandaise sauce.  Plus two pieces of multi-grain toast.  Yes, it was as tasty as it looks.

I didn’t get pictures of the other items ordered (I know, shame on me).  But I’ll give you a brief description of each.  Jess ordered the prime rib hash like I did, so nothing more on that.  Jay ordered huevos rancheros with poached eggs.  It contained refried beans, chorizo, salsa, queso fresca, and of course, some toast.  He said it was pretty decent, but I got the impression that in the back of his mind, he was figuring out how to make it better.  The curse of being a chef.  I thought Lindz got biscuits and gravy, but I’m not finding it on the menu.  So, I guess I’ll just leave what she ate as a mystery.  I do remember her saying that it was good.

Putting everyone’s responses together, the review of Chester’s is that it is a good place to eat.  The food is definitely above average, but there is room for improvement.  Granted that is nit-picking the recipes tied in with the fact that we didn’t have to take out a second mortgage to pay for it either.  Making a short review even longer, I recommend going there.  It had a nice relaxed atmosphere with good, quality food.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

