Home > family, snacks, things to try > Smoked Herring!!!

Smoked Herring!!!

For some people, it’s music.  For others, it’s snow, or even the neighborhood lighting up.  But for me, Christmas is finally here when I get my hands on some smoked fish.

IMG_20121213_212514

No matter what form herring takes, it is a great fish.

This urge I can trace squarely back to my grandpa Nick.  When I was little, he would always buy smoked fish around this time of year.  It was usually smoked whitefish.  Which I do try and pick up on a regular basis.  The other one that he would buy (when he could find them) is blind robbins.  Blind robbins are small herring fillets that are so salted and dried that they turn into a jerky version of a salt-lick.  My saliva glands are going into overdrive just thinking about them.

While wandering around Cub Foods today, I ended up at the seafood counter.  This is an area that I tend to avoid because I’m weak willed and usually end up buying something from there.  In this case it was a surprise package for Lindz (post coming as soon as I make it) and a pack of whole smoked herring.  I’ve had one already and it was quite good.  A little heavy handed on the salt, but it had a nice strong smoke flavor.

So, I say to you, Happy Holidays and eat some fish!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

