Home > recipes, snacks > This Entertained Me For Way Longer Than I Would Care To Admit

This Entertained Me For Way Longer Than I Would Care To Admit

In the latest issue of Cook’s Illustrated (Jan/Feb 2013), they had an article on “Foolproof Soft-Cooked Eggs.”  I’ll save the guts of the article for your own perusal (it’s a good read).  The gist of the article is that the secret is to steam the eggs rather than boil them.

CI did test batches from one to six eggs, and I cooked two and four egg batches.  All of my eggs turned out perfectly.  The only word of caution that they give is to make sure that the eggs have no cracks in them.  I found out the hard way why.  Apparently I didn’t see a hairline crack on one egg and I discovered half of one egg “boiled” out into the pan by the time everything cooked.  The rest of the egg was still edible, but half of it was gone.

You can use this method on one to six eggs, from large through jumbo without altering the timing.

Bring a 1/2″ of water to a boil in a medium sized sauce pan over medium-high heat.  Gently place the refrigerator temperature eggs into the pan.  Cover and cook for exactly 6 1/2 minutes.  Remove the cover and run cold water over the eggs for an additional half a minute.  Remove the eggs from the pan and serve.

DSC00842_2

Thermodynamics doing its magic to fill my tummy.

It’s surprisingly easy to peel soft-boiled eggs.  Give the broad end a good rap on a hard, flat surface and peel as usual.  I recommend a quick rinse to get any random bits of shell off.

These eggs turned out beautifully and like I said, this entertained me for way longer than I would ever care to admit.

DSC00849_2

Can you see why I was enthralled for a whole afternoon?

  1. February 15, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    I personally Believe article, “This Entertained Me For Way Longer Than I Would Care
    To Admit Cooking With A Kid From God’s Playground” was indeed fantastic! I personallycan’t see eye
    to eye with u even more! Finally seems like I actuallyfound a weblog worthy of looking through.
    Regards, Maybelle

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

