Home > family, recipes, supper > Vive la Crappies!

Vive la Crappies!

Earlier this past summer, I “liberated” some crappies out of Mom’s freezer and fried them up.  (Relax, she told me to take them.)  Well, I finally got around to writing about it.

DSC00517_2

It’s pronounced “craw-PEAS.”

I didn’t do anything fancy with them.  I was just trying to use up some pantry supplies that I’ve had forever, namely some corn meal flour and panko bread crumbs.  The only seasoning that I added to each was a bit of salt and pepper.

DSC00518_2

The panko bread crumbs are on the left, which, by process of elimination, means the corn meal flour is on the right.

Once they went through an egg bath and a dip in whichever dry mix, I just pan fried them in some oil.

DSC00522_2

I know I’ll get some grief from my Aunties about this (they like to remind me heart disease runs in the family). But I think this sight ranks right up there with some of Rembrandt’s paintings.

The corn meal ones turned out quite exquisitely.  The panko ones, well, not so much.  The batter ended up mostly falling off.  The taste of what was left on was nice, there just wasn’t a whole lot there.  Fortunately the fish stood up well on its own, so it really wasn’t a complete loss.  What I should have done is pulverize the panko crumbs so they were fine like the corn meal.  Lesson learned.

DSC00523_2

As you can see for yourself, the corn meal crappies turned out beautifully. And the panko crappies, well, like I said, not so much.

Categories: family, recipes, supper Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

