Home > humor, recipes, supper > Brinner

Brinner

BRINNER (brin-er) noun; (1) An evening meal that consists of breakfast menu items.  (2) A contraction of the words breakfast and dinner.

Usage: Man, I love having pancakes and bacon for dinner!  It’s my favorite brinner!

Origin: I heard it from Matt D. sometime last year (see above usage).  I have no idea where he got it from.

One evening, I was rooting around the kitchen looking for ideas on what to make for supper and I was coming up with a complete blank.  Out of desperation, I asked Lindz if egg sandwiches were OK.  Fortunately, she said yes because we may not have eaten otherwise.  She even threw in the idea of using some breakfast patties that we picked up at the store.  Of course I had to one up her and found a partial bag of mozzarella that needed to get used and decided to throw that into the mix.

I toasted and buttered some bread, made a couple of over-easy eggs, and fried off the patties.  The real stroke of genius (hey, it’s my story and I’ll tell it how I want!) was to pan fry the cheese so that it would melt and get a nice crust on it.  Assemble the parts and enjoy with several napkins.

DSC00824_2

I laughed out loud when I opened the package and saw how big the sausage patties were.

DSC00827_2

This is the reason why Lindz told me fry eggs over-medium for sandwiches in the future.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

